The club was started in the 1940's.
The main founding member was Doug Flintoff
, of the then main camera club in Victoria called "Hirst & Flintoff".
The original name of the club was Victoria Amateur Movie Club. The club crest and badge had a symbol
of 16-8 which was superimposed on top of each other.
Most of the members used 8 mm film, some more serious members used 16 mm. Dr. Clifford Carl, who was the Curator of the
Royal BC Museum was a member, and the club used to meet in the Museum many years ago.
Ernest Henn had an enormous collection of Movie and Camera equipment, plus films, posters, and memorabilia too long to
list. When he passed away the club and the Saanich Historical Artifacts Society made a serious effort to keep the collection
intact for display and historical interest. However, its value was beyond the means of the two groups and it was split up
and sold, mostly to people in the Unites States.